On 1 November 1921, the Woolston Borough joined the Greater Christchurch and came under the care of the C.C.C.
Once named the Lower Heathcote, Woolston became known as New Zealand’s centre of the rubber industry. Always known as the working man’s suburb, Woolston can boast proudly of some of Christchurch’s earliest industrial history.
The attached photo is of Rutherford Street – looking east – in 1928 but at that time, it was known as Princes Street. It was re-named to Rutherford Street in 1948.
For a more in depth look at the history of Woolston, please check out the following link: http://www.peelingbackhistory.co.nz/
*image courtesy of the Canterbury Library http://christchurchcitylibraries.com/ – File Reference CCL PhotoCD 10, IMG0006