On 1 April 1955, Halswell joined the Greater Christchurch and came under the care of the C.C.C.
The term “Halswell” for the area was first used in 1868 – before that, it was known as a part of Tai Tapu.
For many decades, Halswell was regarded as a satellite town, meaning it was a thriving little independent township close to a large city. It has only been with the developments of new housing areas these past few decades that Halswell and Christchurch have joined physically.
In 1990, after 140 years of business, the Halswell Quarry closed for business. It had been a life source to the area, with its stones being used in such iconic places such as the Canterbury Museum and the Canterbury Provincial Chambers. Taken over by C.C.C, it became Halswell Quarry Park – turning a once noisy wasteland into a great recreational area surrounded with native gardens and wildlife while showcasing and preserving its history proudly.
Edmund Storr Halswell arrived in New Zealand in 1841 as a member of the Management Committee of the Canterbury Association as well as Commissioner of Native Reserves. He was to protect the rights of the Maori during the development of the new colony. He took his duty with great seriousness, studying and reporting on the way of life and the conditions that the tribes lived in.
Edmund was not in New Zealand for very long – he eventually died in London on New Year’s Day 1874 at the ripe old age of 83.
*Image courtesy of the Canterbury Public Library – http://christchurchcitylibraries.com/ – File Reference CCL Photo CD 2, IMG0089*