On 4th February 1868, a severe storm hit Canterbury causing wide spread damage across the region. The storm, which began on 3rd February, continued over night, wrecking many ships at anchor in Lyttelton. The first alarm for Christchurch was raised by a Fendall Town (Fendalton) resident who reported that the Waimakariri River had flooded and …
William Barbour Wilson was quite a presence, 6 foot and weighing in at 18 stone. He was a man of immense energy, always walked at a fast pace – keeping one hand on his hat and the other motioning to others to make room for him. He had a ready smile for his friends but …
In 1868, the last year that the West Coast was a part of the Canterbury region, Richard ‘King Dick’ Seddon – destined to become New Zealand’s longest serving Prime Minister and pictured here on the far right – was trying his luck amongst many others in the hunt for gold. He prospered so much there, …
Following the example of the Auckland Volunteer Fire Brigade set up in 1854, Christchurch’s first fire station was opened in Market Place (Victoria Square) in 1860. Those who first volunteered had the immediate use of a manual fire pump whereas Auckland started with just buckets. In 1868, Christchurch got its first career fire fighters – …