Upon recognising the historic and cultural value of the 163 year old ‘Grubb Cottage’ of Lyttelton, the C.C.C step in to save the London Street site in 2006. Funds were used for conditions and structure reports, a conservation and restoration plan and a commitment to preserve the “most significant colonial dwelling in Lyttelton”
In 1849, Scottish born John Grubb arrived in Lyttelton to join the many carpenters working for the Canterbury Association who were preparing Port Cooper (Lyttelton) and the Port Cooper Plains (Canterbury Plains) for a Church of England settlement. There in Port Cooper, John found his life and destiny.
He was part of the team that built the port’s first jetty – the jetty where all our first settlers walked along to step ashore. He also built the punt for the Heathcote, where many crossed the Estuary to make the long walk down the future Ferry Road into Christchurch.
His wife Mary and his three daughters arrived in Lyttelton aboard the ‘Charlotte Jane’, the Canterbury Association’s first ship. What we now know as the Grubb Cottage, started in 1851. In 1864, as the Grubb family had grown larger, the Grubb Cottage went through an upgrade and extension. It seems in true tradition that John took the time to place a coin on the inside timber work for “good luck”. He would have done the same on the ships he built, placing a coin under the mast. This wonderful superstition came to light during the restoration in 2010.
John died in 1898 (with the title of the oldest man in Port) and was buried with his beloved Mary in the Lyttelton Anglican Cemetery. Mary had passed away in 1886.
For a more in depth look at the Grubb family, please check out the following link: http://www.peelingbackhistory.co.nz/the-grubbs/
*Photo taken by Annette Bulovic – Discover The Delights Of Peeling Back History